Barry Hess :: Blog

Declaring Tab Bankruptcy

Over the years I've tried to keep the tabs at bay in my mobile phone's browser. Inevitably these tabs would get out of hand: 60...70...100. That meant it was time to clean up, and so I'd take an hour to document what I wished to document, but mostly just closed things up.

In the past 6-12 months, however, things have gone very, very wild. I'm up over 400 tabs now and it doesn't appear that there is any letting up. A friend encouraged me to simply close all tabs and move on. He's right, but I can't.

I am a note-taker and an archiver. I feel a loss when getting rid of things. Even digital things. Digital things that I hadn't shared yet because I felt the need to truly absorb them first. Digital things that might advise my next project or salsa or movie-watching session.

Silly, I know, but it just is how I am.

Luckily iOS Safari is here to help! I thought, if only I could copy all of those URLs to a note I'd feel better. I probably will never reference the note, but the note will be there and I'll feel confident to close those tabs. Huzzah!

  1. Click the tabs button.
  2. Click [NUM] tabs along the bottom of the screen.
  3. Click Edit.
  4. Click the ellipses next to your tabs.
  5. Click Copy Links.
  6. Paste into your note-taking app.

At least now it is searchable!

(Even better, you can move all tabs to a new Safari tab group. Yay!)

Now to figure out a way to do this in Todoist...