Barry Hess :: Blog

Classic Albums, Unlistened

Listening to the Conan O'Brien Needs a Friend episode reflecting on Nirvana’s In Utero, I'm realizing that I may have never sat and listened to In Utero or Nevermind. I never owned those albums. The only Nirvana album I owned was MTV Unplugged in New York. I must have heard those other albums straight through at a friend’s house at some point?

Perhaps I need to make an Album Whale list called Classic Albums, Unlistened. I can start listing to all of those notable albums that I had never took the time to hear. It’s great now that I can stream them. Though if I started this list a few years ago I could honestly say, “The first time I heard Fleetwood Mac’s Rumors in its entirety was on vinyl…in 2018.” Yes, I probably own many classic albums on vinyl, but have yet to listen to them. 🤦‍♂️

Another one I heard for the first time in the past few years: Supertramp’s Breakfast in America. Holy cats, that is a great album! I can add basically any Beatles, Led Zeppelin, or Rolling Stones album to that list as well. I’ve listened to a lot of Outkast, but not Aquemini. I’m very recent to full Talking Heads albums. For what it’s worth, I’ve covered much of this top 50, but not all! And probably less than half of 51-100.

Finally, did you know Shania Twain’s Come on Over is the eighth biggest selling album of all time? That’s wild! The only artists to sell over twenty million copies of their album since 2002 is Adele, who has done it twice. In the modern era, these sorts of lists are losing their importance.